Nantong University

Nantong, China

Nantong University

Nantong University was founded in 1912. It originated from the private Nantong Medical Specialized School and Nantong Textile Specialized School founded by Zhang Jian, a famous modern industrialist and educator. In 2004, the former Nantong Medical College, Nantong Institute of Technology and Nantong Normal College merged to form a new Nantong University. In China University Evaluation 2020 of the China Academy of Management Science, Nantong University ranked 114th. In ESI Comprehensive ranking of Chinese universities, it ranked 113th. In Airuishen Alumni Association, it ranked 100th of the ten authoritative universities (Chinese universities) in the world in 2019. There are 20 schools, one independent college, one affiliated Hospital of Nantong University, School of International Education, and School of Continuing Education in the university. There are 3 postdoctoral research stations of basic medicine ,clinical medicine and information and communication engineering, 3 first-level doctoral programs of basic medicine, clinical medicine, information and communication engineering, 22 first-level master degree programs, and 10 professional master degree programs. 4 disciplines of Clinical medicine, neuroscience and behavioral science, engineering and Pharmacology & Toxicology entered the top 1% of ESI global ranking of disciplines.

There are 3.367 faculty members in the university currently, including 1,659 with senior and higher titles, and more than 1,550 doctoral and master tutors. There are 102 undergraduate programs, covering 10 disciplines of literature, science, engineering, medicine, art, economics, law, pedagogy, history and management, etc. There are nearly 40,000 full-time undergraduates, more than 3,350 postgraduates and 916 overseas students. The average annual employment rate of students keeps above 98%.

The university has a number of high-end research platforms, such as the National-local Joint Engineering Research Center, the Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Education, the Key Laboratory of Sinopec, the Provincial Key Laboratory and Engineering Center, the Cooperative Innovation Center of Jiangsu Universities and the Key Research Base of Philosophy and Social Sciences of Provincial Universities. Over the past five years, it has undertaken nearly 600 projects of National Key Research and Development Projects, Project of National Natural Science and Social Science Foundation.

The university has extensively carried out overseas exchanges and cooperation. It has established friendly cooperative relations with 117 universities and research institutes in the countries of United States, Canada, Britain, Germany, France, Italy, Russia, Australia, Japan, Korea, and Chinese regions of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.

IEEE and DRAA, the Digital Resource Acquisition Alliance of Chinese Academic Libraries, have entered into an open access read and publish agreement. This agreement makes it more convenient for corresponding authors to publish open access articles with IEEE’s industry leading journals and magazines as eligible authors pay reduced article processing charges (APCs) and may have the opportunity to pay no APCs as some of these costs are waived under the agreement.

Learn more about open access at Nantong University