CRUE – Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas


CRUE – Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas

CRUE – Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas has an agreement with IEEE to accelerate open access publishing in Spain.

Participating members of the CRUE consortium will have:

  • Open access publishing rights in over 160 hybrid IEEE journals and all IEEE fully open access journals, making articles instantly available and free to read by the general public
  • Publication of all open access IEEE journal articles with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license unless otherwise requested by the author
  • Read access rights to peer-reviewed journals, access to approximately 200,000 new conference papers added each year, as well as IEEE standards (totaling over 5 million articles)

Eligible Authors: The corresponding author has to be affiliated with one of the participating institutions.

Eligible Articles: Original research articles which are written by Eligible Authors and which are editorially accepted for publication in Publisher’s journal with an acceptance date during the term of the contract, and which are of one of the following article types:

  • Regular Paper
  • Review Paper
  • Brief
  • Invited
  • Survey

The agreement applies to all eligible articles accepted for publication between now and 31.12.2025.

It is necessary to use the correct institution name and your institutional email address during submission.

It is recommended for authors to select the CC BY 4.0 license.

The open access funding request will be approved by an administrator in the library.

Overlength page charges or color fees are not covered by the agreement and will be charged to authors.

Eligible Titles: IEEE fully and hybrid open access journals

Participating Institutions:

  • Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Universidad de Alcalá
  • Universidad de Almería
  • Universidad de Burgos
  • Universidad de Cádiz
  • Universidad de Cantabria
  • Universidad de Castilla – La Mancha
  • Universidad de Córdoba
  • Universidad de Deusto
  • Universidad de Extremadura
  • Universidad de Granada
  • Universidad de Huelva
  • Universidad de Jaén
  • Universidad de La Laguna
  • Universidad de La Rioja
  • Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
  • Universidad de León
  • Universidad de Lleida
  • Universidad de Málaga
  • Universidad de Navarra
  • Universidad de Oviedo
  • Universidad de Salamanca
  • Universidad de Sevilla
  • Universidad de Valladolid
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Universidad del País Vasco
  • Universidad Miguel Hernández
  • Universidad Pablo de Olavide
  • Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena
  • Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
  • Universidad Pontificia Comillas de Madrid
  • Universidad Pública de Navarra
  • Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
  • Universidade da Coruna
  • Universidade de Santiago de Compostela
  • Universidade de Vigo
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Universitat d’Alacant
  • Universitat de Barcelona
  • Universitat de Girona
  • Universitat de les Illes Balears
  • Universitat de València
  • Universitat Jaume I
  • Universidad Nac de Educación a Distancia (UNED)
  • Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
  • Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Universitat Rovira i Virgili

IEEE recently hosted a free webinar, which reviews the opportunities Spanish authors have to enhance the visibility and impact of their research by publishing in the many open access options available from IEEE under the CRUE – Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas agreement. Also, learn how to publish using your institution’s open access agreement to pay for APCs. Register now to view a recording of the webinar.

Learn more about open access at CRUE - Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas